30
Jun
09

over and out – the 30th of juneathon

Quick Finish – Drop And Give Me One Hundred – There’s Someone On The Pitch, They Think It’s All Over… It Is Now

I wanted to get todays Juneathon activities out of the way early on, partly because of the heat, partly because I am out this evening and partly because I was looking forward to completing it – like the lure of the finish line in a race and the last big push toward it.
Once the kids were safely on their way to school, I set off. It was still early (pre 9am) but already the temperature was up into the mid 20’s. I’d decided on a 6.75 mile loop, the first part open and on pavement, the return leg along the towpath, partly in shade and next to the river. Heat was a real factor and was feeling very sluggish. It was also less than 12 hours since last nights cycle which I think added to the heavy legged feeling. The semi-shady route back alongside the river was a little easier but I was still glad to get to the end and get out of the sunshine.

A few quick stretches and then straight in to the second part of todays challenge – still in my sweat soaked running shorts – the 100 consecutive press-ups. I realised that if I actually stopped and thought about it, I would procrastinate and put the press-ups off until later. By going straight into them, I really had no time to decide not to do them. The first 40 were relatively easy but found myself beginning to tire very quickly past this point. By 70, I was ready to give up and my hands were slipping on the floor. 80 though to 90 were hellish and the last 10 were done in bursts of 2 press-ups, pause for a pant, then another 2. Once you reach 90, it becomes a case of mind over matter to finish – you’re knackered but so tantalisingly close it woud be rude not to complete the 100. Once done, I dropped to the floor, and lay there until the pain in my forearms and the small of my back (weird!) faded. Interestingly, Running Betty and Run DMT have organised a 100 press-up Julyathon challenge – if you’re interested, details are here.

So that’s it – done. 30 consecutive days of running / exercise, 30 consecutive posts with the added stupidity of the 100 press-up challenge.

Juneathon 2009 Totals:

Run: 101.47 miles
Cycle: 109.62 miles
Press-ups: 1999
Crunches: 1900
Free Weights: 1 hour

Also, inspired by The Virtual Runner, I decided to see how far the 211 miles (running & cycling) I have travelled would have got me – apparently the equivalent of London to Padstow.

So all that remains is a big thank you to JoggerBlogger for the original inspiration, JogBlog for organising this years effort, everyone who has commented and encouraged me, all the other Juneathoners whose blogs have kept me motivated and enterained and Mrs eatingtrees for allowing me to indulge myself when I probably shoud have been fulfilling some important parenting duty.

Finally, I remember reading that Juneathon was originally invented by a friend of Joggerblogger who wanted to get in shape for his summer holiday… which got me thinking. When is the time of year that most people need a kick up the arse and really need to get back in shape??? Janathon, anyone?

Soundtrack to this post: We Are The Champions – Queen

5 Responses to “over and out – the 30th of juneathon”


  1. June 30, 2009 at 4:02 pm

    Well done Sir. Good work and the 100 push ups… Insane.

  2. June 30, 2009 at 5:53 pm

    Well done.

    Very good Juneathon stats.

  3. 3 eatingtrees
    July 2, 2009 at 8:25 am

    Thanks very much for the comments. It was harder than I thought it was going to be but now it’s over I do miss it. I’ve ordered some new running shoes and as soon as they arrive, I’ll be back out there.

  4. July 2, 2009 at 4:29 pm

    Congratulations on your Juneathon win, well deserved!

  5. 5 eatingtrees
    July 2, 2009 at 10:45 pm

    @fitartist – Thank you. I have to admit I was mighty impressed with your unbroken running streak throughout Juneathon. And have you seen the new Runners World (p19)… We’re famous! LOL


Leave a Reply

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Ware2Barefoot

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

contact

Vision Treadmills at Fitness Superstore


