12
Jun
11

juneathon day 12: eat, run, eat, repeat

3.56a.m.
Two things I know about 3.56a.m. on a Sunday morning. Number one: the sun has begun to rise. Number two: it is no time to wake up feeling as fresh as a daisy only to have your heart sink when you realise that it is three bastard fifty six in the bastard morning. I learned these valuable lessons this morning at 3.56a.m.
I then lay there in all my fresh-as-a-daisyness until a shade before 6a.m. when I fell asleep only to be woken by the alarm an hour and fifteen minutes later feeling like someone had been standing on my face. I dragged myself out of bed and downstairs to prepare some breakfast before getting ready and heading out of the door to meet Simon, author of Ware2Barefoot, for an approximate 15km run.
I’d contacted Simon after reading his blog as he a) lives just up the road from me and b) runs in Vibrams. We decided to organise a run together and today was that day. He is training for the Eden Marathon so he ran the 5km to where we had decided to meet. I’d planned to take him on my 15km route and then he would run an additional 5km home bringing his total distance up to around 25km. I was happy just to attempt 15km as this was to be further than I had run in the VFF’s before and, with a few niggly aches, could have turned into a bit of a trial by fire for me.
Anyway, I met Simon as planned, we had a quick chat and then we set off, talking all the while. I think we chatted for the entire run, it felt good to have some company on a long run and the kms passed easily. I was aware that he is a much quicker runner than I and felt I was slowing him down. He very graciously replied that it was good training for him as he needs to learn to pace himself.
I left him 15.5kms later, back where we started, for him to run his additional 5km back home. I’m pleased to report that my feet and legs survived and (currently) feel OK. The Garmin misbehaved again today, resetting itself to zero and stopping – something I only noticed about 11kms into the run, so today’s distance has once again been worked out manually on Running Free Online. It seems the Garmin is also struggling with Juneathon. So, a big thank you to my running partner for the day for being so patient with slow old me and helping the kms pass so enjoyably. And that is day 12 in the bag.


5 Responses to “juneathon day 12: eat, run, eat, repeat”


  1. June 12, 2011 at 7:28 pm

    Lucky you to run with someone today, great mileage too.

  2. June 12, 2011 at 9:36 pm

    nicest thing about a meet up is that you get going even though someone’s been standing on your head. nicely done!

  3. June 13, 2011 at 10:09 am

    Cheers for the run on Sunday. After checking the GPS, the pace was perfect. Managed 28 km in the end so all was good.

  4. 4 eatingtrees
    June 13, 2011 at 6:55 pm

    Thanks everyone. Yes, it is nice to have someone to run with every once in a while and I doubt I’d have tackled the 15.5kms that morning without the added incentive of peer pressure. But it was a good run.
    Simon – Good Work on the 28kms!

  5. June 18, 2011 at 5:27 pm

    “3.56a.m. on a Sunday morning…is no time to wake up feeling as fresh as a daisy only to have your heart sink when you realise that it is three bastard fifty six in the bastard morning…I then lay there in all my fresh-as-a-daisyness until a shade before 6a.m. when I fell asleep only to be woken by the alarm an hour and fifteen minutes later feeling like someone had been standing on my face.” lol. Perfect. And so, so true.


Leave a Reply

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

contact

Vision Treadmills at Fitness Superstore


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

