21
Feb
11

a kick in the rear

The more I had time to reflect on the personal performance debacle that was the Wokingham Half Marathon, the more unhappy I became. How could I have been so stupid as to forget to eat enough prior to the race, couldn’t I have just kept pushing instead of admitting defeat etcetera, etcetera…
By midweek, I could take no more of my constant internal nagging, so pulled on my running shoes and headed out of the door for a quick 10k. I was angry and I had something to prove to myself. I followed my familiar riverside 10k route. I wanted it to be fast enough to erase my doubts that still lurked from the weekend. I tried not to look at my watch too much. At around 5k, I did glance at the time and the imaginary deadline that I had secretly set myself seemed acheivable, so with a new lease of life pushed on. It turned out to be one of the fastest 10k training runs I have done in a long time. Faster than my pb from the BUPA 10,000 2 years ago.
So it was with these thoughts in my head that I set off for 16kms on Sunday morning… this wasn’t planned to be fast, simply steady and about the same distance as I managed to run before spectacularly hitting the wall the previous weekend. It was steady and I finished still feeling relatively fresh.
Both of which were exactly what I needed both physically and psychologically. I have a bit of my drive back so have signed up for this years BUPA 10k… if I got a pb there 2 years ago, I think it’s about time I got another.

Soundtrack to this post: Coil – Who By Fire

2 Responses to “a kick in the rear”


  1. February 22, 2011 at 10:42 am

    Well done – there’s nothing like the feeling of putting things to right!

    • 2 eatingtrees
      February 27, 2011 at 6:39 pm

      Thanks Breandán. Let’s hope I can hold onto that feeling for a couple of weeks so I have a better time in The Hague!


Leave a Reply

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

contact

Vision Treadmills at Fitness Superstore


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

